Monthly image : The Planets

Anni Karvinen: A still image from a video called The Planets, 2014

“I was looking at the sky with my telescope and I saw the striped Jupiter and four of its moons. The fact that the world is full of floating balls is so incredible. It makes me wonder about rituals, sorrows and fears which are typical of humanity.

Painting has been the most important means for my self-expression for a long time. I am interested in two-dimensional and frozen images, which capture the atmosphere of the moment and stay in that moment for ever. During the past year I have also made videos. When I approached moving images I realised that I was as fascinated of the moment there as I had been before. This thought pattern probably dates back to my habits of painting and the learnt way of looking at the world. I have noticed that different techniques affect my way of seeing things. Sculpturing (which I seldom do) makes me look at the scenery in a more three-dimensional way. My videos include movement but no plot. Instead there is a moment which keeps moving. The idea is looking at something from the outside: you know only what you sense, never the whole story.”

tarpit_pienivesiplaneetta

>> www.annikarvinen.com, with the video The Planets

Leave a comment